Chinese-Forums

DUFL/Dalian possible Beijing Move

jdintl

Hi All,

I am writing to search out opinions. I have been in Dalian since January at DUFL. I am completely dissatisfied with my experience at this school. I think the curriculum is substandard and overally I don't think I am getting what I want out of my situation. I have made great progress, i study(tutors/self study/chinese people) about 8 hrs a day and have self taught the fundamentals of writing. I think Dalian is also very boring. With the exception of expsenive shopping malls, there really isn't anything here and nightlife is basically non-existent. What are people's thoughts about moving to Beijing? Have I missed something in Dalian? Do you think a change in schools in Dalian would bring my attitude around? I start tomorrow class at a private school, so it will be DUFL in the mornings private in the afternoon. I am also not sure I fit into the university environment. I find that private school are less concerned with "maintaing academic standards" whatever that means in China and more interested in teaching. Someone please shed the voice of experience on my situation. My rent comes up in July and I want to decided if I should go to another city or not.

Cheers