Chinese-Forums

speakgoodchinese

newyorkeric

I found this cool software at http://www.speakgoodchinese.org/index.html. It will record your pronunciation and test how good your tones are. Has anyone used it or is anyone willing to try it and supply some feedback on how well it works (it's free)? :mrgreen:

EDIT: I should add that I tried it and liked it but am not sure how good the program is since I am a real newbie when it comes to Chinese.

I asked a native speaker to try this software. IMHO, given the analysis of her tones, I think this software can be a great tool for beginners. I learned a lot about what I do wrong, not only regarding the tone shape itself but also about how I don't keep my pitch smooth, that I have trouble with two first tones in a row (dropping the second first tone below the first), etc.

I'm still curious about what others think.

Any tips on getting it working? I've installed, but the two programs it adds to my Programs menu just open DOS boxes (is that the right word?) and then crash or close. There's a lot of info on compiling stuff on the website, but I was kind of hoping that wasn't intended for us humble Windows users . . .

I'm not sure why it's not working for you. I am using a PC running Windows and there was no problem. It does open a DOS window first and then a second or two later opens a second window, which is the actual program.

For those of you who get it to work, there is an option for male, female, child speaker that you have to choose from the Voice pulldown menu so that the program takes your pitch range into account.

EDIT:

This is the version that I installed: http://www.speakgoodchinese.org/releases/sgc-install.exe which is listed under Windows download and installation instructions as Windows (right) icon on the download page.

Hello all :)

I'm the lead developer of the tool. Responsible for the Praat integration and crossplatform compatibility of SGC.