Chinese-Forums

Modal Verbs 会 and 能 vs. Resultative Suffix 得了 and 不了

Entropy_Rising

Hi all,

I know searching archives for previous discussion of the topic at hand is important at this forum, but I was unable to come up with anything searching specifically for the Hanzi "得了" and "不了", and I also looked at the sticky in this forum and while there's a topic on 可以,会,能 and there's a topic on the particle 了, I haven't found anything specifically on my issue - the one in the title.

Basically, I was wondering if anyone could help explain to me the differences in usage between the modal verbs 会 and 能 vs the resultative suffixes 得了 and 不了. In English, I think both the verbs and the suffixes are used to express "can" or "be able to" and their opposites. However, scarred by the order and manner by which I started learning Mandarin, whenever I speak Chinese I always use 会 and 能 (whose differences I think I have a pretty good grasp on) to represent the idea of ability - but with the goal of wanting to speak more natural Chinese I want to start using 得了 and 不了. I just don't know when to use either - and I'm sure just haphazardly replacing the modal verbs with the resultative suffix isn't the best approach.

So for example, in my little grammar guidebook, (Modern Mandarin Chines Grammar - Claudia Ross and Jing-heng Sheng Ma), one example for the resultative suffix is:

今天的功课这么多,我做不了。

There is so much homework today. I can't do it.

If I were out and about and wanted to express such a concept with my (admittedly bad) Mandarin, I would probably instead say 我不能做 or 我不能做完.

Another example -

他很聪明,一定做得了这件事情.

He is very smart, he certainly is able to take care of this matter.

Again, if I were in a conversation and wanted to express this meaning, with my currently resultative-suffix-less Mandarin I'd probably end up saying 他一定能解决这件事情。

我用不了筷子

My incomplete Mandarin skills: 我不会用筷子 or 我不能用筷子

这是他的个性,他改不了

With my incomplete Mandarin: 他不会改变自己 or 他不能改变