Chinese-Forums

Anyone study at Mandarin House before?

AdamSoong

You can get a decent apartment in Shanghai for 2000-3000rmb per month. If you share with others that can be as low as 1500 if you just want a simple place (you will be a student, after all).

It looks extremely overpriced for the Chinese lessons too. I have no experience, but my advice is that if you want to do a 6 months course then look at JiaoTong University or if you haven't excluded Beijing then the Culture & Language university there.

Mandarin School, from what I can tell is one of the many private Chinese "schools" in China that "teach" Chinese to foreigners working in Shanghai for a really high price tag (usually their companies pay for their Chinese lessons).

One hour of 1-to-1 tuition in Shanghai cost somewhere between 80-150rmb per hour. Obviously this may be different if you are doing a set course.

Sorry I can't help more. Find some other foreigners who have more experience than I!

Just for comparison, 20 hours a week for 24 weeks (6 months) at RMB 100 an hour is RMB 48,000.

See also this thread and this thread, for some more background on why private schools are more expensive, although not necessarily less value more money.

Not that I know anything about this school in particular, but just saying that often cost is not the only factor to consider in choosing where to study.

• 4 months later...

Yes I have. The environment is quite good, modern offices, they train their staff to work to a program of sorts.