Chinese-Forums

Being Black in Beijing

Shizzlepuffs

Hey everyone!

Quick bio about me, I've been studying Chinese in the U.S. for about 2 years now and decided to study abroad in Beijing this summer (my plane leaves in a week, I'm studying at BFSU). At first I was kind of immune to the whole "nervous about experiencing a new culture" but now its starting to eat at me. My counselor said that since I was black that my experience is likely going to be very different from others. So here are a couple of questions

1. What should I expect being black and staying in Beijing? (Sorry if this sounds ignorant in anyway but I've been to turkey for a summer and I had like celebrity status over there xD).

2. What is the night life in Beijing like? Like the dance clubs compared to American ones (i.e. is grinding/juking unacceptable?)

3. For those who have stayed at BFSU before (or just know) does BFSU have a fitness center for lifting weights etc? If not are there any nearby centers?

4. Do you have any tips for making the best out of my Beijing stay?

Thank you for reading and hopefully answering. Sorry if this sounds silly in any way but once again the anxiety is killing me.

I'll just offer my view on your first question:

What should I expect being black and staying in Beijing? (Sorry if this sounds ignorant in anyway but I've been to turkey for a summer and I had like celebrity status over there xD).

If you look like NBA god and you can play ball and play it well, you should feel good in Beijing. I think being black in Beijing is better than being black in any other city in China.

You'd better get ready for swarms of Beijinger high school kids wanting to have their pictures with you! :wink:

Get ready for housing discrimination. We have had a lot of home stay families & agents say "No blacks" when we look for housing for our students. This has happened more times than not.