Chinese-Forums

Confucius Institute Masters of Teaching Chinese to Speakers of other Languages

steveh

Hello everyone,

There is a lot of resources on CSC scholarships, but little on the Confucius Institute Scholarship, specifically in reference to the Masters program for teaching Chinese. This is pretty surprising since its a 2 year program and already has a few years of establishment.

I am currently studying at one university in China under this scholarship and would like to share what our schools requirements are. I'm also very interested in hearing about other schools programs and requirements as it might also help others who are thinking about applying for this scholarship.

- First, one thing I enjoy about my school is that they allow us to take language classes in the morning for free and then our masters classes in the afternoon. (20 hours a week, 10 and 10). I've heard other schools don't have the opportunity to take language classes?

- Second, the masters classes I take are the following: Chinese Culture; Theory of teaching Chinese to speakers of other languages; 话题; basics of Chinese and how to teach it; and finally an arts class. For an entire semester we have to learn taiqi, another semester other arts like paper cutting, calligraphy, etc. However, we cannot pick these courses ourselves.

- Third, to graduate, one of the requirements is that we pass the HSK with either a 9 (old HSK) or 6 (new).

- Fourth, the school gives us our stipend in the middle of the month. During the holidays we are not allowed to receive our stipend all at once beforehand, only after we have returned (insurance policy that we return?)

- Fifth, our internship is the last semester. We must then come back for our thesis discussion.

- Sixth, as stated in the contract, the school provides double rooms for us.