Chinese-Forums

The 2011 Aims and Objectives Progress Thread

JenniferW

See also:

2010, 2009 and 2008 (and now you can look into the future, with 2012

I'm studying on my own, because I live somewhere there are no Chinese classes or courses. I'm retired, and studying very part-time because there are several other things I spend as much of my time on. I have an interest in Chinese that goes back a long, long way, spent several years living in China, and I decided to carry on with some language study even though I'm no longer there. I do go back on trips at least once a year.

My biggest problem is setting realistic goals! I want the moon!

Because I realised I would need some sort of external target or deadline, plus some sort of relatively objective feedback on my development, I've taken an exam each of the 3 years I've now been working like this. In 2011 my aim is HSK level 4 (new HSK) - which I plan to take in May, in the UK. This means my target for May is the characters and grammar for level 4, plus the reading, writing and and listening levels that exam will demand. I've been using the BLCU 汉语教程 / Hànyǔ Jiàochéng coursebooks, and I have those to cover (I think) up to around HSK level 4.

I plan before then on a trip to China, March-April time, and I plan to spend around 3 weeks of that on a language course. I've not yet made a decision where to go, or how many hours of classes to sign up for. I need to think a lot more about this and head towards a decision and booking things up, sooner rather than later. I need to think about my personal priorities as regards what sort of classes I pay up for. For me, the HSK exam isn't the be all and end all.

I know that after taking the exam, and while I wait for the results, I'll lose any sense of direction with all this - and this year will plan ahead for that, rather than assuming I'm just going to plod on with the coursebook while I wait for the results (and in fact do no studying at all).