Chinese-Forums

Pleco - worth paying for basic/pro add-on bundles?

Tuna

I've been using the free version of Pleco on my iPhone and I've been wondering if I should pay $35/$70 to upgrade to the basic/professional bundles. I'm an upper intermediate level student of Chinese heritage.

How well does the flashcard app work? I already own a different flashcard app (Flashcards Deluxe).

Stroke order diagrams would be useful occasionally...but I could just as easily find them online for free. Document reader and audio pronunciation would not be useful for me either.

How are the dictionaries (NWP, ABC, 21st Century)? are they much different from the free ones? are they worth paying $35/$70 for?

I paid for the reader, flashcard, handwriting recognition, and Chinese-Chinese dictionary modules. Here is the breakdown of what I found useful about each one:

Reader: By far the most worthwhile paid add-on. It is so much easier reading difficult texts when you can click on any character and get a popup of its pronunciation and gloss.

Flashcard: Second most useful, because it works so well in conjunction with the reader. You can instantly add any new characters/words into Pleco's flashcard database while reading a text. I almost never review my flashcards in Pleco itself, but doing it this way is so much easier than making flashcards by hand. I actually export them to Anki, which is my main flashcard application. I do occasionally do some reviews before exporting to Anki, and I have found it to be a competent flashcard program.