Chinese-Forums

Written Mandarin system

Kapanda

• New Members

Hello dear Chines-forums.com users

I wanted to ask anyone that might know what the alleged written system for mandarin is.

I am a total beginner, with only about a month's worth of Mandarin studies under my belt. But I cannot recognise a pattern for writing Chinese characters. Okay, sometimes it makes sense to see the 亻radical in characters, but I only vaguely see a pattern in its use, so much so that I would not be able to formulate the pattern I think I see.

So, what is the system/pattern used in writing Mandarin characters?

As you have noticed, characters are made up of sub-parts. And, when it comes to pronunciation, there is a bit of a "system" for many characters in which part gives the meaning and part often gives a hint at the sound. But that's about it for a "system".

If it were easy to learn, what's the challenge?

Hello,

As said earlier there is no pattern, system, or logic to chinese character. But having said that there some rules and patterns, but they do not apply to all. As you learn more this will become clearer. English is also famous for not following all it rules all of the time. But if you are a native english speaker you will have absorbed these rules without learning them. Same with chinese don't try to learn them just absorb them as you go along. This is one reason why with chinese you have to practice, practice and practice some more.

If you have only been learning for about a month, you have many years ahead of you of great pleasure as you learn enough chinese to see any patterns. This is the key, you need lots of data before the rules become apparant. Enjoy Shelley

Roughly, it goes like this.

Originally, characters were stylised pictures, representing the objects visually. There is a proportionally small number of such characters still in use, but it includes many important characters, like 人 (person), 子 (child), 女 (woman), and 马 (horse).