Chinese-Forums

Grammar #4: 了

xuechengfeng

Well, first off, there are two different 了's you have to worry about.

Verb 了: occurs after a verb; a perfective aspect marker that normally indicates an event in a past time reference. For instance: 我吃了飯 = I ate.

It can be used to express a period of time up to and including the present: 我學了三年中文 = I studied Chinese for three years [up until now]. (If you used 過 instead of 了, it would indicate that you studied Chinese a long time ago.)

However, 了 should not be equated with past tense, and should be regarded as a marker that indicates an event that happens relatively in the past of the sentence's time reference. For instance, it may refer to an anticipated completion of a future event: 我吃了飯以後就回家 = After I finish eating, I'll go home.

Sentence 了: occurs at the end of a sentence; a modal particle that usually indicates a new state exists. Unlike the verb 了, it generally introduces a relevant situation rather than state an objective fact. For instance: 我吃飯了 = I have eaten. (Contrast with 我吃了飯, which is "I ate.")

Both types of 了's may be used at the same time in a sentence. Generally doing so indicates that an event has happened and continues to happen. For instance: 我學了三年中文了 = I studied Chinese for three years [and continue to do so].

There are more nuanced uses of 了 that I haven't gone over here... perhaps other members can contribute.

I did find an old post from Altair that gives a pretty good explanation:

Verbal "le" is used to sequence verbs within the context of a narration. It is used to express what happened and in what order. The occurrence must have enough detail and specificity to make sequencing relevant. It is as if you are verbally relating the things able to be captured by a movie camera; whereas the "shi.....de" construction would be commentary on what the film would show.