Chinese-Forums

How to prepare to and review 阅读课 (reading course)?

xuefang

I would like to hear your ideas and advice for how to prepare to my reading course lessons and how to review after class. I'm studying a Chinese language BA at Sun Yat-Sen University, but I'm sure most of other universities also have this 阅读 course.

At our course we use a book called Intermediate Chinese Reading Course 汉语阅读教程中级2 (You can see the book here). Our aim during the course seem to be to learn how to read faster. And not only faster, but to also understand the main points in the text.

First we learned about 主次 and 主句 and how they can help us to find the most important points in a text faster. Right now we are studying 标志词 and how they can also help us to determine what is said in a text, what is important and how those words help us to read faster. So this course also includes grammar and expecially grammar terms (which are not my strong points).

The problem is that I don't know how to prepare for this class. We can't use a dictionary because the point is to learn to read difficult text without dictionary (prep us for HSK for example). I can't read the text before class, because then the exercises during class wouldn't be as effective. Those excercises have to be finished in class in a certain amount of time (usually few minutes).

Then after class, how should I review? The book is full of short texts that we go over during the class, should I read those again? Should I learn the vocabulary? (Well, that would be a lot of work!) Or should I do the exercises that we didn't have time to do during class?

At this point the only thing I've done is to check those grammar terms and 标志词 with dictionary so I know what they really mean in English.

During the course we also need to read a Chinese book and that's going well.