Chinese-Forums

How to allocate my time in the first few months of independent Chinese study

andyfastow

Right now I am studying Chinese independently as if it were my full time job. I've been at it for just over a month now and can probably continue on a full time basis for another 2-4 months this year (though not necessarily consecutive months). The rest of the year I can study part-time, although towards the end of the year my time available for Chinese will really start to become limited.

About halfway through March I started tracking how I spend my study time. Based on three and a half weeks worth of this data, I've discovered the following:

20% of my time is spent with tutors or language exchange partners (in the case of LE I obviously don't count the English half towards this time)

20% of my time is spent reading or watching stuff in English that is about learning Chinese (this forum, blogs like Hacking Chinese, YouTube channels like Steve Kauffman, Moses McCormick, Luca, etc)

20% of my time is spent snipping audio from tutoring sessions, making Anki decks, and doing homework from tutors (mostly written translations in pinyin of simple sentences from English to Chinese and constructing sentences that include certain required words).

15% of my time is spent drilling vocab with SRS software

15% of my time is spent doing listening drills (Chinese pod, audio from tutors/LE, tone recognition drills because I still stuck at this, etc)

10% of my time is spent doing the FSI course.

My goal is to reach a basic conversational level by the end of the year (or earlier if possible). I don't really care about reading and writing for now.