Chinese-Forums

If you had to relearn Mandarin Chinese from scratch, what advice would you give yourself?

lechuan

Just one question. What do you mean by learning all the radicals? All the Kangxi radicals including extremely rare ones? Or just common components (some of which are defined as radicals and some which are not – including semantic components – as the Kangxi radicals are quite arbitrary).

Now in the day of smartphones and electronic dictionaries (e.g., Pleco and Wenlin), I think learning radicals just because they are radicals is quite overrated. However, I do agree with that you should learn components—semantic and phonetic—from an early stage!

I would have sought out/found this site much earlier.

...although the internet wasn't really available when I started studying Chinese...at least, I didn't have internet access until after I graduated from DLI....mp3s didn't show up until years later, and even being able to read/write Chinese on the internet also took 3-4 years, to the best of my memory.

Other than that, I am pretty pleased with my method:

hand-written flashcards early while studying with native speakers, then after achieving basic fluency, transitioning away from "study" to directly using the language via music, movies, television shows, news articles, books, and news programs.

• Like 3

Just one question. What do you mean by learning all the radicals?

Good point, xiaokaka. "components" is a better way to describe my intention (and I have updated my post above). Thanks!

I'd recommend that I focus primarily on the first 100 or so radicals and really learn them, then just expose myself to the remaining ones, but not as much as the more common ones.

I'd also recommend that I not try to learn the meaning, reading and writing of words all at once, that I focus on the recognition skills first and then in the next sweep worry about production.