Chinese-Forums

When it comes to a TEFL certificate does it matter if it was a face-to-face or an online course?

fatimi

• New Members
I intend to teach English in China. I am not a native speaker and have no teaching experience but I hold an MA degree and I thought of completing a TEFL course to sharpen my profile. According to some sources an online one is not so effective and will not give you a real knowledge/experience. (this is obvious).  But even having been searching for a job only for a week a position at a public school has already been offered to me.

My opinion is that after some teaching experience (5 or 12 months) the teaching experience itself will overwrite the importance of the TEFL certificate i.e. an online course should be fair enough. What do you think?  Are schools strict about what sort of TEFL it is? Which of the below 2 options would be better?

1.) 

Completing an online 40 hours one just to be able to demonstrate I have something in my hand in the beginning and completing a face-to-face one later. 

2.) 

Completing an online 120 hours one in the hope that it serves its purpose.

Thank you in advance! :)

Firstly, great news you've already been offered a job.

Unfortunately, the fact you are not a native speaker will make it hard for you to find good work in China.

You definitely can find a job but it is likely to be in a school that would normally find it hard to attract foreigners. Perhaps in a city that is more to the west or center of China, rather than in the East.

Apart from government guidelines, the parents of school students will almost certainly demand a native speaker. Schools in China, especially private language schools, pay great attention to the opinion of parents.

As for picking either course 1) or 2) above,  I would say both of them are pretty much the same. In that they are both online courses with no teaching practice. They will both just serve as a 'piece of paper' to tick a box.