Chinese-Forums

問我anything with bokane

Yadang

Hey everyone,

We're continuing our 問我anything series with bokane. Remember that bokane can choose not to answer any of the questions posted.

You can check out the rest of the 問我anything topics here.

A few questions to get us started:

1. You mentioned in this interview that flashcards aren't your thing... That brings me to ask, (1) why, and (2), when it comes to studying, what is your thing? Textbooks? Podcasts? Shadowing? Something else?

2. I've heard rumors that you're a PhD student these days. What are you getting your PhD in?

3. Looks like you had been learning Chinese for about 5 years before you started doing translation work, is that right? How does one know when they are ready to start doing translation work? How good was your Chinese at that point?

• Like 1

Hey, thanks for asking me here! 

1) Flashcards aren't my thing basically because I'm lazy, and because I was lucky enough, when I started learning Chinese,  to have the sort of junk-drawer memory that works well for pub quiz trivia and Chinese characters. Now that I'm learning Japanese as part of my PhD program, I've been giving the flashcards a bit more attention -- basically dumping stuff into Anki and then reviewing on my phone in my downtime. I'd be lying if I said I loved it, but at least it's better than lugging around boxes full of index cards.

2) The rumors are true! I'm doing a PhD at Penn, back in my hometown of Philadelphia. Still figuring out exactly what I want to be when I grow up, but these days I'm interested mainly in late-Ming vernacular literature and popular culture.