Chinese-Forums

Reverse Chinese-English dictionary

yorkie_bear

A very very long time ago when I studied in China I bought one of the most useful dictionaries - a reverse Chinese English dictionary. Basically if you had 2 characters for a Chinese word, couldn't recognise the first one, but knew the second, you could look up the word using the second character.

I've since been to a few bookshops in China to see if any updated versions are available but can't find it. For those in China, if you see one can you tell me where? Thanks!

A friend of mine has the $30 dollar one you're looking at and it's very good, but very old (the first version was printed in 1983 and the second in 1993). The Cheng and Tsui $60 book offered on amazon was published much more recently (in 1999) and the company makes good Chinese resources. I've used many of their products and have been satisfied with all of them, but I've never used the Cheng and Tsui reverse dictionary. I can't find the dictionary on the Cheng and Tsui website (http://www.cheng-tsui.com/default.asp), but I think that's because in 1999 they were working with the Commerical Press and now they're on their own.

It looks like the one posted on Amazon was printed orignally in 1985...

Comments: A Reverse Chinese-English Dictionary: 1985 hardcover by Commercial Press, Bejing; binding tight/square, pages clean, appears unread, note inside front cover, 1343 pgs, slight spine dip, no dust jacket

I guess they must have reprinted in in 1999.

Youshen

weird, I think we're looking at different books. I see:

Product Details

Hardcover

Publisher: Cheng & Tsui (June 1, 1999)

Language: English

ISBN: 0887271790

Average Customer Review: based on 4 reviews. (Write a review)

I think the one you're talking about is the first of the two and the one I'm talking about is the second? But then under comments the New one doesn't have any. So I wonder which book the information I see refers to. :conf