Chinese-Forums

THE STORY OF MY LEARNING CHINESE

self-taught-mba

To understand my background go here to the introduction page: http://www.chinese-forums.com/showpost.php?p=52905&postcount=179

THE STORY OF MY LEARNING CHINESE

To (try to) be brief, I will give a short timeline:

Winter 2003, first year of my MBA program:

• A Chinese classmate tricks me into saying “Wo3 ai4 ni3” to a Chinese girl.

• It piqued my interest.

• I started to read about economic trends and decided that because of my focus in operations the Chinese economy may be a future target.

• I’m thinking about starting to learn but do nothing.

• Because about a third of the MBA program is Chinese/Taiwanese I think it might be a good environment.

August 2003, 2nd year MBA:

• A fellow MBA student asks for me to be his roommate. He suggests we can help each other with language, although I will later learn that he does not believe I was serious, and had very little intention of doing anything but improving his English.

September 2003 (my study starts):

• Purchased 1 used Chinese cassette tape from eBay (Berlitz, outdated). The translations are bad, but I imitate and often: this will mark the beginning of my actual language study.

• Purchased the lonely planet handbook and taught myself pinyin. Between the listening and the book I seem to do well.

• Tried to enroll in a Chinese course. The MBA program will not let me do it because it is not on the graduate-level. The Chinese department won’t allow me to do it because they say there is no space (I later learned that this is because 75% of the class is taken up by Chinese)

• I decide that I’m on my own to study

• Attend an MBA conference. At the conference meet other MBA students who are studying Chinese at Thunderbird University. They all gripe about a similar experiences: the Chinese use them for help with their English but are not willing to reciprocate fairly.

Throughout Fall semester 2003: