Chinese-Forums

My rant: Problems with the Chinese Teaching System

self-taught-mba

My rant: Problems with the Chinese Teaching System

>>>

Note: The below passages were originally intended to be one of my first posts. However, it was written in Word over time and has become kind of a working document as it got longer and longer. Since I’ve last worked on this a couple months ago, many things have changed. But rather than rewrite, I will post this in its entirety as originally written (save for adding links), and provide additional updates separately.

>>>

I finally got around to the saying this because I wanted to finish my introduction which I’ve been putting off forever first (which gives some background about my learning).

I am 90% self-taught but recently attended a couple months of BLCA here in Beijing. For more of my story click here http://www.chinese-forums.com/showpost.php?p=52905&postcount=179

then here http://www.chinese-forums.com/index.php?/topic/6549-the-story-of-my-learning-chinese

Many of the teachers at the BCLA (Beijing Chinese Language Academy) also taught at BLCU. I was less than satisfied with the quality.

Previously, I attended a class for a couple of weeks in the United States and realized I was better off learning on my own. In my MBA program, a program in which communication skills are very important, many of the Chinese students were unable to effectively communicate in English even after 10, 12, or 15 years of study. Many people blame this on the semantics of the language. However, I must disagree on this point because the people from Taiwan were able to communicate orally on a much better level.

After speaking with many of the Chinese students/friends I found that they also were very dissatisfied with the teaching system in China and particularly in regards to language training.