Chinese-Forums

Help with Hanzi Spreadsheet

leosmith

Hi,

I’m new to this website. I’m studying Japanese now, but beginning in 2006, I will study Chinese. If there’s one thing I’ve learned from my Japanese study, it’s that having a well organized plan is crucial. So I’m organizing things already.

My hope is to use the same technique for studying hanzi that I used for studying kanji – the method spelled out in Remembering The Kanji, Book 1 (RTK).

Unfortunately there is no RTK book for Chinese (although there is a paper out there for 1000 characters). So I’m trying to compile all the info I need into a master spreadsheet. The spreadsheet needs to have: the traditional character, meaning, radical and pronunciation. I’d also like to have the simplified character, stroke count and frequency. I’ve been unsuccessfully looking all over the web trying to dig this info up.

1. Does anybody know where I can find such a spreadsheet, or where I can get pieces of the info? I’d like it in some sort of list form if possible. Dictionaries and flashcards are great, but not too helpful for this exercise.

2. What are your opinions on the number of characters to study? I’ve heard everything from 2000 to 5000. I’m starting out with traditional, if that helps.

Thanks,:)

Leo

(ps - I realize this isn't the standard way to learn, but anybody who wants a copy when I'm finished is welcome to it)

This site has a database including simplified character, meaning, radical, pronunciation, stroke count (but not order) and frequency. I'm not sure if the database is available to download though. Unihan may also be useful.

As for how many characters to study - I realise you might be aware of this from Japanese (not sure how Japanese works to be honest) - but I really think you are better off studying words, not characters. If you like list based learning, look at the HSK lists (search on here for more info, we have the HSK database on here, and the site linked above also has them.