Chinese-Forums

New Practical Chinese Reader vs. Integrated Chinese

hdejarne

Has anyone used these two textbooks and can tell me what some of the differences are? I've heard good things about them both. I've got about a year to self-study chinese before I move to China and I'm looking for a good textbook to work through. Any advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

I studied with Intergrated Chinese II (中文听说读写) for several months. I found there to be a wide-variety of topics. There is 40-70, sometimes about 80 vocab words in each chapter.

Also, there is a nice incorporation of 成语. I have used pretty much each 成语 that I learned from this book. The illustrations are sometimes silly, but make things less intimidating.

One thing that you might want to know about book is that there is a common mix-up of Simplified and Traditional characters. For example, many times there would be Traditional characters replacing Simplified characters in the text. (The book has its contents in both Simplified and Traditional.) However, some examples of specific word usages are only in Traditional. This is good in that it will make you more accustomed to Traditional characters, which is useful. But for some, it may not be convenient.

The recordings of this book are generally well-done. The vocabulary list will be read aloud, and then the articles themselves will be read aloud. In the recordings, the article is divided into smaller parts. These parts are read first slowly, then at a normal speed, then at a conversational speed. This is very helpful for getting accustomed to the material. However, I suggest getting a CD copy of the recordings instead of a casette tape.

After each article, there are explanations of new grammar patterns found in the article. There are also some exercises for you to fill out to test your grasp of the material. There is also a useful glossary of the vocabulary material in the back of the book.