Chinese-Forums

Living in China and things to bring

website

I have been in Asia off and on since August 2001. During the

nearly two years I have been here, I have seen and learned

many things about this place. I have have lived in China, Vietnam, Thailand, and the Philippines. I have also visited most of the

countries in East and Southeast Asia including Japan, Korea, Laos, Cambodia, Malaysia, Indonesia,

and Singapore. I am not an expert on Asia, but I do think I am qualified

to comment on what has shocked me here and share some tips on Asia, mainly in regards to China. Southen

Asia has been my favorite place because the cost of living is very low, jobs are plentiful, and the weather is warm. Living is pretty easy for Westerners here because of the novelty factor and the common perception (true or not) that foreigners in Asia are worldly and rich. Foreigners often feel like movie stars here even if

they were losers back in their home countries.

China especially is a culture shock, though. People in China tend to stare, cut in front of others in line, not say "excuse me", "sorry", or "thank you", spit, urinate outside, vomit everywhere, hold hands with same-sex friends, and wear two-piece suits to do construction work or pajamas to go shopping. Owning a car, speaking English, or seeing foreigners are rare here. Windows are often opened here in the winter and hot water and heaters are hard to find. Clothes are of poor quality and very small. Living in a third world like China may be harder than its sounds. Electricity, water, and Internet services may often have outages. Don't overestimate how much you may miss seeing books and magazines in English, western food, ice, churches, safe tap water, and western medicine.

China seems advanced in some ways and behind in others.