Chinese-Forums

The best Chinese I’ve read by a westerner

Kenny同志

David Rockell

Excellent translations, reasonable rates

Account type Freelancer

Experience Registered at ProZ.com: Sep 2000.

About me

At Global Language Forum Translations we specialize in Travel and Tourism, Advertising and Marketing, Finance, Business, Arts, Technical, Science, TV and Film

I have 7 years experience as a translator, in that time completing numerous projects. I hold a B. Ling (Chinese) and have studied and lived in China for over 8 years. My English editor John has worked in a wide range of jobs, and has degrees in Commerce and Physics.

For more details contact david@china-translate.com

Well, he's been registered as on the translation forum since 2000 and the post was written in 2002. If he wrote his description when he first registered that's 9 years as a professional translator. Plus he has a degree in Chinese.

I don't find it too intimidating, but then I'm not capable of judging the beauty of Chinese writing.

Roddy, I might have overreacted, but I was really impressed by his near-native Chinese fluency. I’ve seen writings by many foreigners, but few as good as his.

PS: I am expecting that a Chinese book by a foreigner might hit the market in the near future, say, in ten years.

Well, it’s an understatement. Maybe, I shouldn’t have been so stingy with my compliments. :mrgreen: By the way, Andre Maurois thought Englishmen are more conservative except that they use understatements on themselves.

A quote from him

“An Englishman will say ‘ I have a little house in the country’; when he invites you to stay with him you will discover that the little house is a place with three hundred bedrooms. If you are a world tennis-champion, say ‘Yes, I don’t play too badly’. If you have crossed the Atlantic alone in a small boat, say ‘I do a little sailing.’”