Chinese-Forums

WuBi Input Method

kagaisha

• New Members

Any of you using the WuBi input method?

As far as I know it's not that popular anymore (all Chinese people I know use pinyin) and it's being mostly recommended for journalists and the likes who have to type very fast.

Anyway, I'm thinking of trying out WuBi 86 although I'm a beginner in Chinese (though no beginner when it comes to Chinese characters since I'm coming from a Japanese background). I think it might actually be an advantage to type in characters radical-by-radical, because it compels you to really know the structure of the character, not merely to recognize it. I think depending on the viewpoint this might be either an advantage or downside.

But a definite benefit is that you can type in words whose pronounciation you don't know.

So, any users here? And if yes - how long did it take you to master this particular input method?

post-44853-0-84447100-1314096526_thumb.gif

Quite a few of us. If you search for Wubi you'll find several relevant threads. It was never really that popular in the first place compared to pinyin input methods because it takes time to practice whereas anyone can hunt and peck to type pinyin. Statistics I saw from several years back indicated it had about 14% usage among Chinese users. Another big advantage of it is that it allows you to type blind (i.e. you don't need to be looking at the screen and choosing the correct character).

It's definitely not something that will be easy for a beginner to pick up. I'd recommend knowing at least 1,000-2,000 characters before deciding to have a look at it.