Chinese-Forums

Kunming College of Eastern Language and Culture

cliveloughlin

Hi there

I am thinking about going to Kunming College of Eastern Language and Culture to study for about a year from September 2007.

I'm just wondering if anyone has heard of it, its quality etc. I haven't seen any other posts about this school (it's not a university).

All comments welcome!!

Thanks

Clive

I'm currently attending this school. I really like it. They let you sit in on 3 classes for free to check them out. They have pretty flexible times as far as the classes. Right now there are over 200 foreign students. Most of the other people I talk to like it as well.

I think the quality of instruction I'm getting is much better than I got studying at Yunnan Normal in 2000 or in Kunming University of Science and Technology in 2004. I'm taking an advanced class and the teacher's great - I've also sat in on a beginner's class and it was good too. When I studied in the public universities I had 3 teachers that left mid semester, so we had to change teachers, which really upset the flow of the class - none of these teachers were as knowledgeable or could teach as well as the KCELC teachers.

The only gripe I've had with them so far is the waiban forgot to communicate some key things to me, such as that I had to have a medical exam (If your student visa is for 6 months or more you definitely need a 310 yuan medical exam.) and that I was entitled to my student card (you can use this to get steep discounts on travel tickets and entry into parks and tourist attractions) Apart from this I think it's a good school and I'm continuing my studies there.

• 2 weeks later...