Chinese-Forums

When Did You Stop Using Pleco/Anki/Flashcards

Qiaoen

Hello All,

SRS Flash card systems have been a staple in my Chinese learning since I started studying 4 years ago. I can probably count on one hand the number of days that I have not studied vocabulary over the last few years. Although I still love Chinese, I see the act of studying flashcards (even spaced out through SRS) as such a big chore. I currently have about 4500 words in my pleco deck. In my daily reviews, I probably average about a 70% - 75% accuracy. When reading (Harry Potter, Leadership Books, NY Times), I find that  I have to look up only 2 out of every 10 words. I usually have a pretty good guess of what that missing word probably means from context or from the form of the character itself. So, I feel like I can read and enjoy most of the story. However, there are clearly still words that I haven't encounter and even words that I have encountered but still haven't mastered. And in this sense, I know it would be advantageous for me to continue using the SRS. 

But, I can't decide if I would benefit more from stopping my daily pleco use and doing more reading, more writing etc. Or if I should continue using it until I see a higher accuracy in my reviews or until I find fewer words that I don't recognize. Clearly, there's an argument to be made about only doing what you enjoy. And I do know that every person's situation is different.

So, my question to the community is this: "At what point, if any, did you stop studying your SRS and just focus on using the language only daily basis. Was it once you passed a certain HSK level? Once you felt "fluent" enough (whatever that meant to you)? Of course, you never really stop learning vocabulary, do you? But did you stop using SRS flashcard apps when you reached a high, but non-native level?

Thanks,