Chinese-Forums

TLI or BLI or Taiwan?

ashwell

Hi people,

I hope someone could help me. I am currently studying Chinese at Shenzhen University, and the teaching is of a pretty poor standard. My class is really big which means that I don't get the opportunity to practice speaking in class. I gather this is the case with most University courses in China. Therefore I am thinking about opting for a training center where classes are small.

I have checked out both TLI and BLI's websites. I am more impressed by BLI. Their tutors are listed on the website along with their background and experience. Many used to teach on the Tsinghua IUP programme which is very highly regarded. However, the major drawback is tuition costs. At 120 RMB per hour for a group of 2-3 students, and 200 RMB for 1 to 1 tuition, I would say that it's quite pricey. But often you get what you pay for. Is this the case with BLI? Has anyone studied there, I would really appreciate some feedback.

I don't know a lot about TLI. The fees seem very reasonable. However, I am not sure whether their teachers are good. I am looking to vastly improve my all round Chinese (writing and reading as well as speaking and listening). Does TLI focus on one particular area or do they help you cover all areas of Chinese?

Oh and why are BLI's fees so high compared to TLI? They both seem fairly similar institutions. I doubt anyone has studies at both places, but if you have, and you are reading this thread, then I would really appreciate some feedback.