Chinese-Forums

Lots of questions about coming to Beijing

travoholic

Hi all,

I'm a complete newbie and this is my first post so forgive me for any silly questions!

I'm planning on moving to Beijing in about April for 6 months to a year. Just on a whim really, want to have a crack at learning Mandarin and spend some time building an internet business I have plus just do a bit of exploring. I don't intend on working while I'm there so I'm trying my hardest to get a very rough idea of the cost of living in Beijing.

I'd love some suggestions for areas to live in Beijing. I'm leaning towards studying with 1-to-1 Mandarin but don't mind a commute. Can anyone suggest any areas they like near the Wu Dao Kou area (where the school is) or a reasonable commute from there? Anyone have any comments on 1 on 1 Mandarin and if they're a good choice?

I don't mind sharing a flat but I will have a friend coming to stay for the Olympics... I'm guessing cheaper apartments are like shoeboxes. Not sure if I'd be able to shoehorn them into the place or if flatmates would be keen on an extra person hanging around for 2 weeks. I'd love an idea of what you guys pay for a share in a flat or any of those who have their own places. Can someone give me a rough idea of what $400/month US might get me? I'm having a look at That's BJ now but there's so much to process.

I like to go out drinking now and then, will need to get internet, love to cook so will eat at home a lot more than I go out, and I might consider joining a gym or some sort of class to get me out meeting people. Any prices you can chuck my way will be great for booze, groceries etc!

Do you reckon prices will be inflated or rental places difficult to find for 6 months because of the Olympics? I plan to arrive sometime in April or May.

Thanks loads for any help... sorry about all the questions but once I get some ideas on prices, places to live etc. I'll be able to narrow it down and not be so annoying. :-)

Take care,

Kirsty