Chinese-Forums

Anyone know where in Beijing I might be able to buy these Hanzi learning episodes

Chinese Learner

Hi,

I came across this site a few months ago; essentially a set of children's programmes (probably made in the 80s...) that teach how to read chinese characters and how their radicals are derived.

http://hanzigong.st-eduworld.com/Home/tabid/55/Default.aspx

I don't want to buy from the Singaporean distributor because they are charging crazy prices. US$429 for a set of DVDs and US$379 for a set VCDs for their 'revolutionary Chinese video encyclopedia'...yeah, right....but I can't seem to find any info about the actual producer.

So as I am new to Beijing, I was wondering if anyone knew a shop where I might have a good chance of finding this set of programmes for regular Chinese prices?

Is there a great big bookstore or DVD shop where they sell 'everything' in Beijing?

Thank you!

Are you sure it's mainland produced? It's not on amazon.cn or dangdang. Does seem to be available on Taobao though. Edit: and also here. Not so good if you want to physically go to a shop in Beijing.

In the absence of any other info, I'd phone / go to the two major bookstores on Wangfujing, and also try Fab, a fairly large audio-visual store in the basement of the shopping mall on Wangfujing that I can't remember the name of.

I came across this site a few months ago; essentially a set of children's programmes (probably made in the 80s...) that teach how to read chinese characters and how their radicals are derived.
There are some books which are along the same lines. I wonder if the videos would move too slowly for a non-child learner.

Hi,

Thanks! I'll probably order them on that site once I can get a friend to enter the details for me!

Chinese site: Equivalent to US $53

Singaporean site: US$ 379