Chinese-Forums

Self Studiers -- What resources do you use?

ezpar

Hi all,

I think it would be helpful for people to see what others might use in their Chinese studies. I know I love to see what works for other people.

Personally, I have been studying for close to 6 months. I took one university course but found it to be not worth the time & money. I have now moved on to self-study with NPCR #2 with the CDs. I'm about to pick up the Schaum's Outline books (Grammar & Vocab) to supplement the NPCR. I also occasionally listen to Chinese Pod. And ometime in the future (maybe a couple of months?) I would love to get a conversation partner!

How about everyone else?

When I self-studied for a year before living in China my main textbook was Yip Po Ching's basic Chinese grammar. I found it to be an excellent book, and it certainly worked for me, but I wish Chinese Made Easier had been available at the time. I think that's one of the best comprehensive courses I've seen so far. In case you need more info there's a couple threads on this forum abt it.

I've been studying for about two years, with waxing and waning intensity. I have lived in Beijing for about a year now and I'm somewhere in the "middle/upper intermediate" range of spoken Mandarin proficiency. I'm only recently starting to focus on learning characters though.

• Pimsleur I, II, and III
  • ChinesePod
  • ZDT (highly recommend it)
  • nciku: http://www.nciku.com/ (search for unknown characters by handwriting)
  • Xiaoma Cidian: http://hmarty.free.fr/hanzi/
  • NPCR textbook series
  • sending cellphone text messages to friends/colleagues (believe it or not, something this simple has been a big catalyst to my study of characters)
  • language exchange partners (I have 12.8 million of them in Beijing)
  • (I wish I had a PDA and Pleco... It sounds to me like a self-studier's best friend.)

I would also love to hear suggestions based on what tools/techniques others have used.