Chinese-Forums

finding a job in China (non-teaching)?

zerolife

I just graduated from college and with the miserable job market in the US, I thought it might be a good time to try out my luck in China. However, I do have a paying internship right now so I don’t want to make the big move until I find something in China that will pay enough for an average Joe life.

Anyone has any suggestions where to start looking? It seems like a lot of the job websites like thebeijinger.com and chinajob.net are geared toward expats already living in China. Should I go with a placement agency? Should I make a CV or would resume be ok?

Also what do you guys think my chances are of finding one? I have an undergrad degree from a very reputable university in the US and speak near native Chinese (however only intermediate reading level). I’m also fluent in German (speaking and reading). I'm actually German-Chinese (Chinese parents but German nationality). I do have intern experience in the US and i was a Olympics 2008 volunteer (should be a big plus right?)

Any help appreciated,

How much helpful advice do you expect to get when we don't know what you graduated in, what you'd liked to work as ('non-teaching' covers a multitude of sins), or which part of the rather large nation of China you might like to live in.

I'd say the chances of a fresh graduate picking up non-teaching employment in China, from the States, are pretty slim right now. There's a two-year working experience requirement for job visas (might be patchily applied), an ever-increasing number of foreigners already here looking for work, many of them with language skills, and firms doing international business - ie the ones most likely to employ foreigners - are feeling the economic pitch also.

thanks roddy for the response