Chinese-Forums

Vegan and vegetarian Chinese vocabulary

Ludens

I'd like to start this thread as a place to compile as much vocabulary and useful phrases related to veganism and vegetarianism as possible. I'm just starting to learn Chinese, so I'll have more questions than answers, but here's a start.

When travelling through China without knowing any Chinese, I managed to get great vegetarian food everywhere just showing this "vegetarian / vegan passport" attached:

post-42742-095756600 1301921920_thumb.gif

I wasn't vegan back then, so I didn't show the egg/diary part. I ate great dishes almost every time, but I'm not sure how many of these dishes were made with some kind of animal stock. As I'm studying Chinese now and became vegan in the meantime, I'd like to be able to be a bit more specific and picky when I return to China in the future.

Some questions:

• Is the term 纯素食(主义者)widely understood? Are there any other ways of saying "vegan" / "strict vegetarian"?
  • How to ask if there's any animal fat (or powder) used in preparing a dish?
  • Does anybody have a list (or would like to start one in this thread) of animal (derived) ingredients used on food packaging in Chinese?

• Like 2

I am sorry but I think that passport sounds self-centred and arrogant (sorry, sorry). When I was a teenager I was taught not to start every sentence with 我, as it sounds, well, self-centred, self-absorbed. This is why.

Is there any way to reduce the 我 in that passport?

Hi Skylee,

I didn't make this 'passport', I just got it off the internet and used it. My Chinese is nowhere near good enough to be able to be aware of such nuances of politeness, but if the these phrases are indeed impolite, maybe someone would like rewrite them?

I'd be very interested.