Chinese-Forums

Introducing the Jade Gazebo input method

Ted C.

Hi everyone,

I'm a software developer who's been learning Chinese on-and-off for several years. After years of wrestling with Cangjie (and making numerous notes about how I wish it were better), I decided to make my own input method. It's called Jade Gazebo, and it's available from http://jadegazebo.com.

I think it's an ideal input method for people who are learning Chinese.

As a shape-based input method, it helps you learn the structure of characters (preventing character amnesia), and allows you to type characters you don't know the pronunciation of (of which there are many when you are learning). It's great for looking up unfamiliar characters on Wiktionary.

Unlike Cangjie, it's very forgiving for beginners. There are multiple ways to type most characters, so you don't have to get it exactly right. Furthermore, there are no complicated decomposition rules, and there are no "auxillary shapes" that need to be memorised. It even tries to guess what you might be typing and prompts you for it.

The only daunting thing is that it uses a lot of keys (well, more than English... but less than, say, Thai or Hindi). I've tried to put the keys in a sensible arrangment. The bottom three rows are common radicals arranged more-or-less in KangXi order. The top row are "radicals" that are more rare.

Despite being designed for beginners, I think it's still a very powerful input method. More than 99% of characters have a unique input sequence, so you can type without looking at the screen much, which makes it suitable for professional touch-typing. Imagine that. You can start as a hunt-and-peck typist and eventually become a professional touch-typist, all while using a single input method.