Chinese-Forums

Can I teach science instead of English?

Ink15

Hi

I'm planning to go to China to live and work for at least a year in order to bring my Mandarin speaking level up to a solid intermediate level.

I originally planned to teach English, but I'm wondering what alternatives there might be out there for me?

I have a BSc in Chemistry and I'm just about to graduate with a PhD in Chemistry/Chemical Engineering in the UK. I'm a British citizen if that makes any difference.

Any ideas?

Thanks

There are definitely positions available. I would try contacting international schools based in big cities such as Beijing and Shanghai. Bear in mind however that your ability to improve your Chinese while working in that sort of environment may be slower.

Definitely possible, and with a PhD, you also have a better chance of getting a job. Apart from international schools, there are also schools in most large cities offering A-level courses to Chinese students who intend to study abroad for university. You can expect over 20000 yuan monthly plus possibly a living allowance, for teaching about 20 periods per week, although you will most likely have compulsory office hours (8/9am to 4pm). As for learning Chinese, the opportunities definitely exist. It's just up to you to make use of them. For example, you would most likely have a Chinese teaching partner who shares an office with you. If your Chinese is good enough, you can spend the office time chatting in Chinese.

Thanks for the replies guys, I appreciate it.

Is 20,000 yuan a lot?

Obviously everyone's idea of what a comfortable living is varies, but could I live comfortably and manage to save money at the same time on 20,000 yuan? Would I have enough extra money to pay a tutor 7-8 hours / week for intense study?

I'd also prefer to avoid the big cities, is this possible?

Thanks

20K yuan IS A LOT of money in China. You can live really well with that kind of money, even without a living allowance.