Chinese-Forums

Helpful resources for understanding words in combination?

Balthazar

The topic title is not very clear, but I'll try to explain the problem I am having.

I'm a beginner, and so my vocabulary is very limited. However, I do know enough to be interested in checking out some very simple texts for reading practice (and the way I see it, it's a good way to find simple words/characters I am not familiar with, so I can add them to Anki). I've gotten a hold of some books obviously intended for very young audiences, with both characters and pinyin in the text.

While I know a lot of the words being used, I find myself struggling to clearly make out what some of the sentences mean. That is, I get the general idea they communicate, but sometimes I don't quite "get" why the are formed in the way they are. An example below:

20130316235234.jpg

I'm familiar with the words being used here, but only in isolation.

The first line would be "small rabbit move" so I guess it's something like "small rabbit on the move" (as the colorful image would also suggest).

On the second line, however, I'm having problems.Home busy again/also/and yet busy? Hmm. I guess it just means something along the lines of the rabbit being very busy with moving.. But it's a bit frustrating to not get why the words are used like this, when the material itself is so basic.

This is where I would like to know how to proceed. Trying google translate on the second line gives me "Home busy and busy". Not very precise. Are there better online resources for meaning of sentences?

(The third+fourth lines are okay)

This is some basic stuff, I know, but I'd really appreciate some pointers on where to turn when I encounter "problems" such as this. Perhaps it is just a matter of experience, i.e. I need to be patient and keep working on grammar, vocabulary and not spend too much time worrying about stuff like this.

• Like 1

I am probably not the best qualified person to help, but here goes.