Chinese-Forums

How to learn Chinese

zhouhaochen

So I created a list of "ten tips how to study Chinese" tips to give to beginner Mandarin students when they come to China to learn Chinese. The "how to" tips are all very much based on my experience. I think this is always subjective to a certain extend, but if anyone has any feedback on points they disagree with or an essential point they would like to add - I am very open for suggestions, feedback or (constructive) criticism

That's how I studied (or wish I would have studied) - however that was in a time before smart phone apps. I like Pleco, but besides that do not need anymore today and back when I was a beginner, this stuff just didnt exist (makes me feel pretty old...).

I think your list covers a lot of the general things that I feel as well. 

I personally would add some addendums to a few. For example, under "Don't speak English" I would add not to watch English TV Shows/Movies, etc (or on a very limited basis). It is easy to "relax" to your native tongue, but I don't think it is overly beneficial to a beginner-or even an advanced student for that matter.

Another one that is a big one to me is using your auroral memory rather than your visual memory of pinyin. This was discussed just recently and to me falls under your first point-learn tones from the beginning. If you memorize each word and its pronunciation by auroral memory, there is no separation of the tone from the "word". When we teach pinyin and tones separately as is often done, we cripple the learner to believing that they have learnt a word when in reality they have only learned half of the word.

I'm sure there will be a lot of other input too, but I think you hit a lot of essentials.

• Like 1

thanks. I ran it past some of my colleagues at LTL who are fluent speakers and in the end there was general agreement with the idea, which is why I put them up.