Chinese-Forums

Efficient study with the aid of a language exchange partner

yuuzar

Hey guys,

Ive been reading the posts in this forum, and I have been impressed with the wealth of knowledge that I have found here so far. Before I go ahead and ask a specific question, let me start by giving a quick summary of where I am at in my language learning. I have been studying for 5 years, about 10 months back home, and over 4 years in mainland China. At the conversational level, I am OK. I would not say that I am excellent, but I can do alright. My reading is my strongest area (I am somewhere between 1500 - 2500 or so characters), and writing (i.e., on a cellphone or cpu that requires pinyin for input) is behind that.  Listening is better than speaking, and I can also handwrite characters, but that is my weakest area. I have never took a standardized test in a formal setting, but last summer, I took practice levels 1,2,3, & 4, and I blew through the first three, and I think I did OK with 4, but I didn't know how it was rated, so I don't know. I study everyday, mostly focusing on reading and writing. I don't like talking to people, so my speaking suffers. I have all the basic first encounter conversational bits mastered, so I can't just practice with someone on the street. I have to find a hostage at a tea shop or restuarant to talk to.

I have used native speakers to help me in the past, but haven't really done so in recent months. I am considering starting that again because I do have native speakers available right now. I just want to make sure that I am using my time wisely to actually improve my language.