Chinese-Forums

Multiple entry X-2 Visa

dutchie

Hi guys,

I am a dutch student that is going to follow an university exchange program from september 2014 until january 2015. This requires me to apply for a X-2 Student Visa.

During my stay I would like to travel outside of China thereby requiring a multiple entry visa. However, I have not yet planned the trips that I am going to make there and I am intending to do so when I am in China. Do you guys know if it is possible to apply for a multiple entry visa without knowing the exact dates and durations of my trips? Because the application form requires me to fill in the following: "2.6 Itinerary in China(in time sequence) Please fill in the information of the detailed address(es) and date(s) of your visit in China in a time sequence"

And if it is not possible, do you guys know if it is hard/expensive to add more entries to my visa while I am there?

Thanks! 

Hi,

I have heard that the embassy is not very willing to give this visa with multiple entries. I remember that one guy had ticked "Multiple entries.." in the visa application form but in the end the embassy gave out a visa with single entry. Logically he was confused because he had already bought tickets and planned his trip, but still couldn't do anything.

But of course, it doesn't mean that it is not possible to get a multiple-entry visa. Perhaps some other forum users have better experience with this sort of things and can share what they know.

dutchie, I wouldn't worry about planning your excursions before you apply for a visa.  The only information you need is the duration of the longest stay in China.   (I'm basing this on the Chinese visa application here and supplement here.)  As scooby said above, though, there is no guarantee you will get a multiple entry visa, so it's probably in your best interests not to pre-plan too much!