Chinese-Forums

Cloze deletion and leeches

Shelley

This maybe slightly off topic but as it has been mentioned in this topic, I thought I would ask.

What are/is leeches?

What are Cloze/Cloze'd sentences.

Sorry if these are newbie questions but I am new to SRS study and its associated things.

Thank you

Thank you imron for clearing that up.

If you are continually and consistently getting it wrong why would you want to remove it from your study list?

Wouldn't it be better for these cards to be flagged up at the end of study sessions so you can go away and concentrate on them.

Sorry if this has been said before.

If you continually and constitently get them wrong in SRS, then clearly for these particular words SRS is not working to help them stick, so you need to find some other way to get them in your head more firmly (and then put them back in your SRS list). Too many leeches makes SRS such a chore that you'll grow an aversion to doing it at all, which is bad for retention of all the other words you have in there. But to my knowledge, throwing the leeches off your list is usually optional.

And please don't feel a need to apologise for asking questions!

• Like 1

If you are continually and consistently getting it wrong why would you want to remove it from your study list?

I wonder if it might work better for some people to show them the answer card for a leech early in a session and then later show the card with normal behavior.

@ character That sounds like a good plan.

I think I am getting the idea behind SRS now. Have also encountered it with my summer of skritter and can now see what is meant about leeches.

@ lu, thanks, wasn't so much apolodizing for asking questions as for asking questions that may have already been asked many times before.

I see what you mean, if it is not working in SRS you need to something different. This is why I think a list of leeches, say once a week or something, so you can see that you need to do some extra work on them.