Chinese-Forums

Why not Tianjin?

mitch

Hello,

I'm a Dutch undergraduate planning on studying Chinese in China for at least a year. I've been reading through a lot of threads on this forum, and many of my questions were answered, but one important new one arose.

While doing my research on where in China to go, one of my choices was the city of Tianjin. However, despite its proximity to Beijing, I never see the city being mentioned in threads by people asking for good locations to study. How come there's no Tianjin in the frequently mentioned list of Harbin, Dalian, Qingdao, etc.?

Moreover, in most cases where people have questions about Tianjin, they're being referred to tianjinexpats.net. This however is probably not where I will find an answer.

Any information on Tianjin would be very much appreciated. Specifically information on whether it's a good place to study Mandarin Chinese for a year, or not at all.

Thanks in advance.

However, despite its proximity to Beijing, I never see the city being mentioned in threads by people asking for good locations to study. How come there's no Tianjin in the frequently mentioned list of Harbin, Dalian, Qingdao, etc.?

Well, in my opinion, those who like cooler weather in summer would prefer Harbin; and those who like clean air, sunlight, beaches, scenic spots and historic sites would prefer Dalian, Qingdao. Dalian and Qingdao are traveling cities, which are quite suitable for those who want to go traveling while studying, need clear air and leisure atmosphere, but don't want to suffer from the high consumption level and fast-pace city life in Beijing.

Any information on Tianjin would be very much appreciated. Specifically information on whether it's a good place to study Mandarin Chinese for a year, or not at all.

Oh, check the links below, please!

http://www.enorth.com.cn/news/link/english/tianjin/education/english/tianda.htm

http://www.tjqwbgs.gov.cn/news/shownews.asp?id=589

http://www.tjfsu.edu.cn/en/

Thanks!