Chinese-Forums

a year in kunming

jeffofarabia

i am seriously thinking of taking a year off to learn chinese. i was wondering if anyone in kunming could give me an indicator of how much i would need for one year. i am a teacher, and have a bit of money saved, but don't really want to spend it all. i would love to have my own apartment near a university. i wouldn't mind teaching a little on the side, but nothing full time, since i really want to learn chinese.

thanks,

jeff

If you are coming from earning a western salary, money shouldn't be a concern. GBP500 a month should see you through without having to teach.

When I lived in Kunming I rented a fantastic 3 bed apartment with a mate, 10 mins walk from cui hu - 1500 rmb a month (750 each) - about GBP100 (50). Beer's cheap, food's cheap, studying is cheap. If you wanna teach, get in with the Korean families who pay rmb100 an hour or more to teach spoiled kids english. Teaching at a school is crap money . . . . but probably in line with living costs.

Kunming's cool. Kinda miss it. Too many western male losers though.

thanks for the replies. i would like a place near ynu, where i am thinking of going. i have lived in china before, in beijing, so i know i can easily live on 6000 rmb a month (before rent). so should i expect to pay 1000 rmb a month for a flat?

where is a good place to go without foreign losers? wait a minute that might be me. i am also considering sizhuan.

if you absolutely need a luxurious place near ynu and green lake, expect to pay

2-3000 rmb per month. you will, however, be living in the central loser laowei zone.

walk 15 minutes, or a ten-minute 1 rmb bus ride, and you can find a nice apartment

for 750-1000 per month in a gated community where you can still immerse in the

language. 1000 should get you three bedrooms, living room, kitchen and bath

with h2o heater and porcelain buddha.

1000/month excluding rent should be more than sufficient.

hey mr. stinky,