Chinese-Forums

Yay! Im going to China this summer!

Strawberries513

I am a highschool student, and this summer I will be a foriegn exchange student to China! im so exited. I am going for a five week intensive mandarin study program. And, even though there are about 8 months until I go, I have some questions for you all. --

1. I am currently at a low-intermediate level. Assuming that while in china I study as hard as I can, how much should I expect to improve?

2. What kind of preparations should I make to my chinese for this?

Thanks!!

1. You can probably expect to learn more everyday practical stuff that you take for granted now and learn more vocab regarding food, clothes, transportation, banking...etc. and express yourself better in Chinese. If you are going with your school don't get stuck just hanging out with your classmates and speaking English. Try to talk to locals, school staff, sales people, security guards, taxi drivers as much as possible...Long ago, the first time I went to China was for about 7 weeks and as a scholarship requirement I had to take the ACTFL oral exam before and after my program. I was able to advance one level, from Advanced Low to Advanced Mid. I would assume you would be able to advance one or two levels because it's always easier at to make big strides in the beginning...http://www.actfl.org/files/public/Guidelinesspeak.pdf .Sorry, I can only give you an example based on my summer experience in China, which primarily resulted in helping me with my listening and speaking skills (probably because my classmates and I ditched too many classes since we felt we could learn more outside the classroom on our own hehe).