Chinese-Forums

Nice Restaurant to celebrate Birthday?

vanwilder331

Hi there!

I'm new to Beijing and i would like to organise a surprise birthday dinner for a friend of mine who's coming to Beijing in 10 days.

Can anybody recommend a nice and original restaurant to celebrate it?

It will be a group of 15-20 people.

Chinese food preferred but if there's an original suggestion where they serve other kind of food i will consider it too.

All suggestions are more than welcome!

Thanks in advance!

If you're looking for something original, you might try one of the Cultural Revolution-themed restaurants that are around. My teacher has said that Beijing has a couple, and I can ask about specifics if you're interested. Some friends and I ate at one in Harbin a few months ago, and it was the highlight of the trip, even if a very drunk Shanghaiese did have the musical group play a song glorifying the struggle against the "American Pirates." :roll: The food was very good, and the atmosphere was . . . uniquely Chinese. Lots of fun, and something I won't forget.

Let me know if you want me to find out where Beijing's revolutionary restaurants are located. . . .

Price: 200-300 per person. Location doesn't matter...taxis can drive you anywhere!

As someone wrote before..i would also like to know what kind of food they serve at this revolution themed restaurant. Please do ask for more info about it!

Thanks a lot!!

For that price you could go to a Sichuan fusion restaurant like South Beauty (俏江南). There's a couple of them around town - the food's good and the decor is eclectic. A nice place to entertain.