Chinese-Forums

Tips on being able to understand spoken Chinese better?

geoffkhan

Hi, I'm new here.

I've been learning Chinese for two years now, and I'm still having a hard time understanding it when people speak. I guess it's because the words in Chinese are so short and people speak it so fast that it's hard to catch on.

Any tips, please?

Hello Geoff and welcome.

I'm not convinced that the words of Mandarin are short; and if they were, how that would affect matters. Potentially the language could be more difficult because of a limited no. of syllabic sounds representing many meanings. But that in turn could be making things easier, less to learn; and the confusing ambiguous sounds are usually parts of longer words which are non-ambiguous.

One thing is undoubtedly the tones. Search this forum for advice on improving your tones. But exposure to lots of speech is the only real answer, and if you're planning to go to China you'll obviously progress by leaps and bounds after being immersed in the langaueg for a while.

Another problem is registers. With English learning, you can pick up a book, watch the telly, chat to someone, go to a meeting, and it's all the same thing really. Practice in one of these activities boosts performance in the other.

Someone said on another thread that English text message speak is completely different from normal English, and might not be much use as a learning tool. I believe that with Chinese, most of these discourse types vary as widely as txtspk and real English. Written style is very different from speech, that much is clear (plus the added and unaccustomed difficulty of the writing system itself of course). But I think that often telly language helps you to practise watching the telly, meeting language helps you with meetings... get the picture? The skill domains, for me, don't interact in the same way as English (or French, which I learned as a non-native speaker).