Chinese-Forums

age, goals

DrZero

I'm 27, I have been studying Mandarin for 8 years, found out it's the love of my life, and now I'm using it mainly for work - I'm basically a translator/interpreter/night school language teacher - along with the other languages I know.

After a bad experience I had some time ago, I have given up the idea of working in China... at least as a businessman. Hopefully I'll get my PhD soon and enter the academic world soon, I think that'd fit me more. But still I wish I could live in Hong Kong one day... hope my Cantonese will be decent by then :cry:

I'm 23, and started learning Chinese just for fun. Now I work as an ESL teacher in Michigan, which gives me plenty of opportunities to meet new conversation partners in the area (free English for them, free Mandarin for me :wink:). For goals, I plan to use the language in friendships, work, and anywhere else I get the chance. :lol:

I'm 37. I started self-studying in London during a boring few weeks in the office, but stopped after around a year (just doinga couple of hours a week) as I realised I wasn't getting anywhere just reading the 1960's "Practical Chinese Reader" on my own.

四个现代化 anyone?

I picked Mandarin as I wanted to write the characters, thought it would be suitably hard, and also suitably trendy.

Realising that I was in a "use it or lose it" situation, I decided to take a 6 month break from IT consultancy to come to Beijing and study for a semester. It's almost over and I've loved it. I may come back (to China at least; might pick another city) and continue on a one-to-one basis with a private teacher. Who knows the future.

Wow, there are a lot of young people posting here. It's cool that learning a foreign language is so high up your list of priorities. Make the most of your enthusiasm as the opportunities to travel and study decrease after a while, making the decision to continue harder and harder.