Chinese-Forums

Montgomery G.I. bill and Studying Chinese

phunkyphred

Hello,

This is my first thread! :) So let me do a little introduction.

I'm currently in the U.S. air force, stationed in Germany. I have 2 years left of my 6 year obligation. So I am finally buckling down and trying to work on getting some education. I currently am using Rosetta Stone and Pimsleurs software to help learn chinese. I have about 8 language exchange chat buddies but I only talk to 2 frequently.

My major issues with learning chinese have to do with not having anyone to talk to about chinese culture or language around me. Pretty much any time I mention china I think everyones ears turn off and they move onto other subjects, like video games or football. :roll: haha.

So, all that aside, has anyone here served in the military and got out to use their Montgomery G.I. bill to get a degree in chinese or east asian studies?

what are you currently doing with your degree now?

Also, is it possible to attend school in Taiwan or China using funds from MG.I. funds?

i'm just looking for possibilities. While i'm in and my school is 'free' I am taking general education classes so that I can transfer them wherever i'm going, and so i don't just sit about. To learn, one has to be in a learning mode! :) I also am planning to take some cleps.

even if you didn't use your mgi bill to go to school, if you went to school for chinese or east asian studies chime in and tell me what you use your degree for now! :) lets get a discussion going.

thanks in advance.

Phunky.

Welcome to Chinese Forums.

This is the place where we can discuss the Chinese langauge, culture with people of diffent backgrounds but with a common interest - passion towards the language, culture stuff.