Chinese-Forums

Question about Computer Software in China

Lindsay

Hi,

I need to buy a new MS Office package. My dilemma is whether I should buy it in the states or buy it in China 2 weeks from now? Should I go to silicon valley in haidian district?

I recently had my laptop's hard drive reimaged and IBM techs wiped out everything, as promised. I am a business student so I am nothing without excel and powerpoint. I tried to get a replacement CD through IBM since I'm under their warranty but nobody seems to know where to transfer me to. I've called just about everybody and their moms over there and still no luck of ever finding the correct Software support line.

Usually you get the serial number in a .txt file on the CD, or it's 'fixed' to not ask for it - I installed XP once from the 'Official Shanghai Government Version! Quick, Convenient, No Need for Serial Number or Registration!'

Make sure you get the language version you want - English will be available, but you migth need to ask around a bit more. Even if you can't see it on display, ask - most places will have folders full of CDs they can copy for you.

While not condoning piracy, of course.

I'd say the difference between RMB30 and RMB10 in USD is negligible when the cost of a full license for MS Office in the States runs $300+... So, the difference between ~$1 and ~$4 after the currency conversion (10 and 30 RMB, respectively) isn't going to be balked at.

Usually you get the serial number in a .txt file on the CD, or it's 'fixed' to not ask for it - I installed XP once from the 'Official Shanghai Government Version! Quick, Convenient, No Need for Serial Number or Registration!'

Make sure you get the language version you want - English will be available, but you migth need to ask around a bit more. Even if you can't see it on display, ask - most places will have folders full of CDs they can copy for you.

While not condoning piracy, of course.