Chinese-Forums

finding a job in China

aimei

Hi all, I studied in Beijing last semester and would like to go back to work after I am done with college. My ideal situation would be working for a US multinational, but my problem is I have no idea where to even start looking! For those of you working in China, how did you obtain your positions?

Ask your professors if they can recommend someone to talk to about careers in China.

Ask each prof. to give you 2(or more) names. Talk to each of those people, get advice, and ask each of them for the names of 2(or more) people, repeat. After a few iterations you have a network of 100 people you can ask for advice. You can not be shy.

This is outlined in "What Color is your Parachute?" the main point of which is that time spent cultivating connections like this is better spent than mailing out resumes to job boards.

I think there are probably other threads on this site that address this.

When are you graduating?

I agree with the other posters. Connections are really important. Probably the best way though is to work for a multinational in the states for 2-3 years or so, do a good job, and then get transferred overseas. Since you get transferred after working in the USA, you'll also probably get a ridiculous expat salary as well.

How are your Mandarin skills? They will be obviously important as well. Now is definitely the time to start honing them before you go, whether it's right after you graduate or in a few years.