Chinese-Forums

My Mandarin course is about to end...

Rrina

...and I think I'll have to continue studying by myself, because I'd love to be able to speak and read Chinese. Is there somebody else here who went from classes to learning by Internet/books/etc.? How did you manage?

Also, I wonder how good a level of Chinese you can achieve by yourself in the U.S., because I certainly won't be able to travel to China to study.

I thought of trying to form a study group with some people in my class but it doesn't look as if anyone is too interested in that. So once again, any advice will be appreciated.

Thanks!

If you've already got some foundation, I don't think you should have any real problems with teaching yourself. The biggest problem you might experience is to keep yourself motivated and to keep it going.

how good a level of Chinese you can achieve by yourself in the U.S
As good as you want it to be. With modesty, I'd say I'm not ashamed of the level of my (self-taught) Chinese. (Of course, being from the UK instead of the US might have helped me, as we're superior! :mrgreen: )

Rrina,

I agree with HashiriKata's position. Like him, I have similarly never taken classes in Chinese, although (unfortunately, it seems) I am like you in being an American.

Between books and the internet, there are so many resources out there these days, it is staggering. In acting as my own teacher, my strategy was to focus on aspects of Chinese that I loved the best. I chose a book that taught about cultural history, began listening to historical Chinese music, and did some study of character etymologies. Through this strategy, studying did not seem like a burden, and I feel my progress has been very steady.