Chinese-Forums

Studying in Harbin

-葛亚辉-

Hello all,

So I have recently discovered that I've been accepted to CET's Harbin Chinese Language summer program and will be spending this summer studying in Harbin. I can't even explain how excited I am about this. I'm a second-year Chinese student and I know that the experience is going to be invaluable for my chinese development in addition to helping broaden my horizons, etc. etc.

Anyway, I'm basically looking for advice/stories/anything you might have to offer if you've ever done or are doing something similar (also I'm just excited but still have to wait until summer to go so I want to read about things at least...). I've never been out of the US before (except to go to Canada, but that doesn't count) so the cultural shift will definitely be a significant one.

Obviously there is only so prepared you can be going in, but if there are pitfalls to look out for, or things that I definitely should do while I'm there, or really anything at all, I'd love to hear about it,

thanks,

ge yahui

• 2 weeks later...

I did 3 semesters in Harbin with CET. I guess I could answer any questions you might have.

if you are only there for the summer, make use of your time to study, you'll regret it afterwards if you don't. The program is short and expensive, if you do study alot, you will see a dramtic improvment in your Chinese ONLY AFTER the program is over, so don't be worried if you think its difficult and you aren't learning anything at the time. Just keep hitting the books, go to all the activities, and most of all don't slack off.