Chinese-Forums

Question concerning to grammar sequence.

cintiaghimel

Hello, everyone!

As I mentioned before I'm studying mandarin chinese by myself and I got lost with all that grammar. The fact is that I know how to make statements, negative and interrogative questions...now what? I don't know where to go. Should I start learning the aspects? Or the measure words? I presume the measure words should be studied all along the other steps of grammar, am I right?

Plus I asked this chinese guy if he could speak mandarin chinese and he said: What?! and I tried putonghua, hanyu, zhongwen and all he did was shake his head and smile. I know they're from Guangdong, so I thought of going there one of this days and start talking the so little chinese I know just to see how they react. Before that, can somebody tell me if people in guangdong speak mandarin chinese?

Thanks in advance for the help.

You probably know "Guangdong" by its other name, "Canton." Most likely the man in question spoke Cantonese (which is called "Guangdonghua" in Mandarin, by the way.)

Whether someone from Guangdong speaks Mandarin is, I think, largely a matter of when they grew up there. These days, given that Mandarin is taught in schools and especially with the influx of migrant workers, my impression is that most young people are, if not completely comfortable, then at least competent Mandarin speakers, and many are totally fluent. That's probably less true in Hong Kong, and less true of older people from the other side of the border who grew up before mandatory Mandarin in schools and before the big influx of non-Cantonese-speaking workers.